Why do the fret markers stop at the 17th fret?

Ktone

Electromatic
Oct 31, 2021
SE PA USA
Why do the fret markers stop at the 17th fret on most semi-hollow and hollow body Gretsch fretboards that have thumbnail or block inlays? But on fretboards with dot inlays, there are markers at frets 19 and 21. I'm just getting into Gretsch so forgive my ignorance. This is about the only thing on my 6609 that I would really want to change. I honestly didn't notice it when buying (online via Sweetwater) but in person, it was more obvious. To me it looks incomplete without the high fret markers, like someone forgot to add them to those last couple of frets that usually have them (on most any other guitar). And why not even side markers at least? Maybe this is some Gretsch tradition (this is my first Gretsch) but I have to say I'm not a big fan of it.

image2.jpeg image1 (3).jpeg image0 (12).jpeg

Synchro

The artist formerly known as: Synchro
Staff member
Jun 2, 2008
Tucson
That’s the Gretsch secret, but if you have to ask, you’ll never know. :)

Just kidding. I’ve been playing Gretsch for a long time and I’m sure that I noticed, somewhere along the line, but never gave it a second thought, until now. Pretty much everything you see on Gretsch designs from the late fifties onward has a degree of consistency, which I surmise credits back to Jimmie Webster, who gave us many of the Gretsch visual design features.

Ktone

Electromatic
Oct 31, 2021
SE PA USA
That’s the Gretsch secret, but if you have to ask, you’ll never know. :)

Just kidding. I’ve been playing Gretsch for a long time and I’m sure that I noticed, somewhere along the line, but never gave it a second thought, until now. Pretty much everything you see on Gretsch designs from the late fifties onward has a degree of consistency, which I surmise credits back to Jimmie Webster, who gave us many of the Gretsch visual design features.