Why aren’t filtertrons more popular?

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by bdub415, Jul 28, 2020.

1. bdub415

bdub415 Electromatic

Jun 29, 2020
    California
    I’m new to gretsch and filtertrons. I think filtertrons sound amazing. I like them more than my single coils right now and they have no hum. I checked out some examples of other variations of filtertrons on youtube and they all sound fantastic. In fact I preferred the filtertron gretsch with high gain (i think he said it was a powertron) more than the les paul which was surprising. They’re super versatile pickups.

I’ve played guitar a long time. Why isn’t the filtertron design more popular outside of gretsch?

2. Uncle Daddy

Uncle Daddy Friend of Fred

Jan 19, 2012
    Maldon UK
    I think you answered it already. They only sound good with gain. Clean they sound plinky with poor note separation on the wound strings, and have such a characteristic sound it makes them less than versatile.

Dynasonics for the win!

j.s.c, RomanS and TV the Wired Turtle like this.
  3. TV the Wired Turtle

TV the Wired Turtle Gretschified

Jul 25, 2009
    so cal
    uh.... whuuuut?? ok maaan. I FULLY and TOTALLY disagree :) Good lord, a clean blonde bassman w filtertroned gretsch guitar is better than sex. well.... sometimes. haha.

Here's early chet with Ray Butts Filters, Mr CLEAN!

W the same filters

Not even the sweep arpeggios are plinky w Chet

4. calebaaron666

calebaaron666 Country Gent

Aug 15, 2018
    Portland, Maine
    Filter'Trons sound awesome clean and even better dirty.

Berington, stevo, MKunie and 6 others like this.
  5. Marv666

Marv666 Electromatic

Jul 26, 2020
    Germany
    I would say that filtertrons aren´t more popular because of the same reason gretsch guitars aren´t more popular.