Which one for my first?

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by otisblove, May 17, 2020.

1. otisblove

otisblove Electromatic

May 11, 2020
    Chicago, Illinois USA
    I’ve been playing for 30+ years now and I’m in the market for my first Gretsch. In the last few years I’ve learned my way around a soldering iron and feel comfortable enough to do any mods that may come along. EXCEPT when it comes to trying to get my fingers into F holes. I’ve rewired a Sheraton 3 times and can still only get one pickup to work, so it’s got to be a solid body.
    Wiring in my house is old and poorly done, so no P90’s or single coils.
    I have several guitars. They’re all different. I love them all.
    Since everybody here is presumably a Gretsch fan, I have to come clean and tell you I’m never going to touch the Bigsby. I do think they look cool, so I don’t mind having it on there, I just won’t use it.
    I’m aware many of you replace the bridge (and anything else that is replaceable-I get it). I like all of these colors. I can’t get my hands on any of them for the time being and may just wait until I can. The GC guitars I can return without a hassle if I don’t like them.
    Here are the five I’ve narrowed it down to. Prices before tax.

Which would you choose?

G5135 Corvette with Mega’trons $650 B1680EED-1030-4F77-B0ED-5E07798C7953.jpeg

G5135GL (used-Guitar Center)with presumably TV Jones Power’tron Pros $700 973B7628-A4D4-458D-B2CC-13B8533B481B.jpeg

G5448G FSR (Guitar Center)with HS Filter’trons $700 35601E5C-D8A2-4434-AEF3-096C038DB6ED.jpeg
    Chicago Music Exchange Double Jet. Website SAYS Filter’trons. Look like Blacktop Filter’trons to me. $450

08F015EB-EF1B-474E-85F6-B506E8A4DC41.jpeg

G5232T with Blacktop Filter’trons (Guitar Center)$600 E3B96449-50B0-48AE-9023-A077C2EC2A8B.jpeg

JeffreyLeePierre likes this.
  2. lathoto

lathoto Gretschie

Apr 23, 2020
    Ohio