The stomach bug thread

JCW513

Gretschie
Sep 21, 2017
Boston
Got it from my sister and nephews over Thanksgiving. It didn't hit me until early hours Monday morning. Woke up to my stomach making noises out of this world. I just laid there waiting for it to "happen"... Well it happened, proceeded to keep happening. When i wasn't throwing up or on the throne, I was sleeping. Tried working yesterday, I couldn't. I work in construction and work out 6 times a week, and most of the time its twice a day. I'm far from the worlds strongest man, but I can swing 20lbs sledgehammers with one arm, yesterday i couldn't even swing a pickaxe trying to break through the frost on the ground. This thing kicked the crap out of me.

I'm just grateful I got the bug, instead of grandma, or other older people we celebrated Thanksgiving with.

guitarfarm

Country Gent
Dec 29, 2008
Neither here nor there...
Sorry to hear that. My wife also came down with a stomach ailment right after Thanksgiving. Lasted about three days for her. The key after something like this is hydration. The "bug" has almost certainly left you dehydrated and you need to replenish.

drmilktruck

Senior Gretsch-Talker
Double Platinum Member
May 17, 2009
Plymouth, MN
Sorry to hear that. As guitarfarm said, push fluids. Small frequent sips rather than than big gulps. Imodium for the diarrhea, up to 8/day. If you’re getting dizzy standing up or aren’t peeing, then you should be seen. As things settle down, start small amounts of bland food and advance as tolerated. Other worrisome signs - blood in the stool or vomitus, high fever. You may need stool cultures if the symptoms go beyond a week.

if you send me your insurance information, I’ll send a bill for this virtual visit. :)

Ricochet

Senior Gretsch-Talker
Gold Supporting Member
Nov 13, 2009
Monkey Island
The worst was not knowing which way to turn cause different “ends” were running for the door, so to speak.