The current state of live music

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by larryr, Nov 19, 2020.

1. larryr

larryr Synchromatic

Mar 6, 2012
    Camarillo, Ca.
  2. SAguitar

SAguitar Gretschie

Jan 17, 2020
    Oregon
    The truth hurts. Or, maybe not!

3. Mr. Lumbergh

Mr. Lumbergh Country Gent

May 14, 2013
    Initech, Inc.
    Yeah, kinda funny that we'll happily load up $5000 worth of gear into our truck and burn up $50 in gas driving to and from a gig that'll allow us to split $150 5 ways.
    We do it because it's fun. When people ask what I do I tell them "I'm a musician that pays for it with a 9-5 engineering gig."

Last edited: Nov 19, 2020
    Tadhg, new6659, OleDangy and 2 others like this.
  4. Synchro

Synchro The artist formerly known as: Synchro Staff Member

Jun 2, 2008
    Tucson
    Admin Post
    That’s about it for me, as well. I always wanted to be a national caliber Jazz guitsrist, until I realized that I couldn’t afford the pay cut. :)

new6659 likes this.
  5. Teledriver

Teledriver Synchromatic

Feb 12, 2011
    Iowa City, IA
    I've been referring to myself as a guitarist in exile.
    Not a covid quarantine thing either. This goes back to about 20 years ago when gigs became kinda non-existent because of age, lack of a band and the hours devoted to actual $$ at the real job. My work hours went to graveyard shift, so even jamming until 8 or 9 o'clock became really hard to do.
    I love to play live and with a band, it's just not been in the cards since all of the above I mentioned.

6. Synchro

Jun 2, 2008
    Tucson
    Admin Post
    The sad thing is, there are a lot of players out there that would love to jam, but can’t find anyone to jam with.

7. wabash slim

wabash slim Gretschified

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    That's like the farmer who won the lottery.
    When asked what he was going to do with his winnings, he replied, "I guess I'll keep on farming till the money's gone."

Jelly Roll Horton and Xochi2 like this.