Tele, Pots, and Sweetwater Service

Discussion in 'Other Cool Guitars' started by DougWheeler74, Aug 2, 2021.

1. DougWheeler74

DougWheeler74 Gretschie

Jul 10, 2019
    NE Wisconsin, US
    Well….. I recently purchased a new Player Telecaster from Sweetwater. (See post “No Longer Looking for a Tele”). I hadn’t had much time on it before family matters called me out of town Once back, I started playing it and the volume dropped to almost nothing. I did the usual; swapped cables, took out the pedals, changed amps, and then guitars. It was the Tele. I had one in 2015 that did the same thing and a volume pot replacement fixed it.

Not a biggie but I was not pleased. A few days before that my Sweetwater rep had texted me asking if all was well with the new guitar. I texted back explaining the issue and noting that while it was a Fender quality control issue not Sweetwater’s fault, I wasn’t pleased and perhaps they could pass it along to Fender. They could also pass along that it has a small paint drip ‘within fender specs’. I mentioned that my 2622 was flawless for less money. In my opinion, both are Fender QA issues not SW’s fault. The next morning the rep called me and after a brief conversation transferred me to a guitar tech. A quick explanation of the situation and I was offered three options.

1. They would swap out for another Tele
    2. I could take it to a local authorized repair shop
    3. They could send me a replacement part for free if I was comfortable with the repair.

I found that to be fair corrective actions without any hassle. It seemed silly to send and return a whole new guitar for a pot. I am handy with a soldering iron and Tele pots are easy access and no need to put in the shop. He also asked what kind of strings I use. Two days later I have the part and 2 sets of strings. When I opened it up, the tone pot was broken. It is a snug fit in the cavity and I suspect it broke during construction.