Teaching Advice

Duo Slinger

Country Gent
Sep 11, 2020
California, USA
Well guys, I've been playing for almost two years now, and I've really enjoyed it. I've had my gorgeous Gretsch for just over a year, and I'm enjoying myself immensely. I've reached some level of competency, definitely an intermediate player, knowing all my chords, playing decent lead, knowing how to jam, Travis pick, improvise, and hold my own in general. I know my Angus, I know my Jimi, I know my Eddie, I know my Mother Maybelle and my Slash. Enough so that I'm considered mildly impressive by my guitar-playing friends. But I've run into a new challenge:
One of my friends, a wonderful conservatory-level cellist, wants me to teach her guitar. I agreed, but I'll be totally honest with you: I have no clue how to teach. I'll hazard a guess a few of you have taught before, and I seek advice from you as a fellow player on how to teach a new one. I didn't have a teacher, I taught myself, so I don't have an example to follow. If you have taught (in some form) could you please send some desperately needed advice?

NJDevil

Country Gent
Jul 9, 2014
Commack, NY
Well......One obstacle out of the way is that your friend is a musician. I would first ask her what she is looking to do with the guitar. Some questions to ask first.......What music do you like? Does this music have an influence on why you like to learn guitar?

Tell her the difference b'ween lead and rhythm guitarists and what acoustic brings vs. electric.

More questions: If electric lead playing, what do you want to communicate through the texture of individual notes? Do you want to play the songs you like? What would you like to see yourself doing with the guitar next year and then in 5?