Join Gretsch-Talk Today

(Sort of) NGD!

Discussion in 'Other Cool Guitars' started by stiv, Mar 20, 2017.

1. stiv

stiv Gretschie

Sep 12, 2014
    Florence, Italy
    ... in the sense that I received this baby some week ago.
    I produced a friend's record and he payed me back by giving me this The Loar to me. I was reclutant at first (I'm not a producer, and he was my friends so I wouldn't mind to do it for free) but he insisted so much that I brought her home (also, I needed another guitar for Vestapol tuning on stage...:)).
    I owned a '62 330 in the past (and I still own a '64 SG) so I know vintage Gibsons well, and this little archtop it seems very well built to me. Althoug they are korean made, they have a nice binding, confortable neck and stay in tune (even with .12 strings and very high action, as I mostly play slide).
    The glossy paint it's not my favourite thing in the world, and the wooden bridge (more than that, the wooden base that seems to be plastic...) it's not the best but... It sounds right on the guitar.
    Plus, it seems to be part of a limited batch (my friend bought it in Ireland while on vacation there) with an old-fashioned P90 (it has round poles like a Dynasonics, and no metal base like a regular P90...) that sounds a lot like a Charlie Christian pickup (or a Jazzmaster pickup). Very clean, very single-coil sounding, which I really like... I never owned a 125T-type guitar before, but this seems right for me and for the music I play at the moment. One day I'd love to check how a lipstick sounds on it like one of that old 120s...

Now, I have some extra money on my paypal account so... Do you guys see a Bigsby on it? I mean, with a new roller bridge and a new pinned base? Or will I loose most of her tonal qualities? I'm really undecided. Even on what Bigsby (just in case) to buy for her... B6 or B7? I'd really love to see a fixed arm Bigsby on it... ;)