ROAD BIKE RULES!!

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by slickfaster, Nov 12, 2020.

1. slickfaster

slickfaster Synchromatic

Dec 29, 2009
    USA
    D48DDE76-1327-4525-BF2A-E6B46540B181.jpeg Any road bike warriors here? I’m very new to the sport.. 3 months in.. Here in Cali you can keep pedaling through the Fall n Winter it’s awesome. I got a 1998” Cannondale R500, Sexy bike with a granny gear!! For only 4hun. Also got the shoes and helmet. Passed on the tights. Got 5hun into the sport. Not too bad.
    I purchased this bike not knowing much about road bike dynamics and recently discovered that its 4cm too big. This is a pretty big deal in the scheme of fitting bike to body size. So I’ve been keeping n eye out for a smaller bike. The sport is a blast and climbing hills is a drug. I have lost 11lbs. Im turning my health around just by pushing pedals. That and eating a more plant based diet.. I’m sleeping better and seem to be a happier individual..riding 1 ti 2 hrs a day with a occasional couple days off..
    Please give those PITA’s riding bikes on the road a pass... might be Me.
    Not sure where all this came from??
    But ya...Road Bike Man!
    PEACE

2. bluenote23

bluenote23 Country Gent

Oct 17, 2009
    Montreal, Canada
    I'm 67 now but have been cycling as a hobby since my 20s. Now that I don't work and have more time, I ride a couple of hours a day. I find it very hard to take a break.

I'm in the north so the season is winding down now (it was 6C today). Once the snow falls (or we hit the freezing mark) I set up my Tacx computer and ride the Tourmalet, Galibier and the Alpes d'Huez and the Ventoux for the winter months.