Recording Software

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by bradyman, Mar 22, 2011.

1. bradyman

bradyman Electromatic

Dec 31, 2008
    Alabama
    Greetings All!
    I noticed on another post that some of you are into recording. I would like to try recording on my laptop - guitar, bass, vocals, etc. What software-interface would you recommend for someone just starting out. Simple, I like simple.

2. Fox Rox

Fox Rox Gretschie

Nov 8, 2009
    Waterloo, ON
    Do you have a PC or a Mac?

3. RockabillyGlenn

RockabillyGlenn Electromatic

Feb 8, 2011
    Portsmouth UK
    Magix Music Studio Deluxe - I think they're called Magix Samplitude Music Maker now.

I've been using this software for several years now, because it's easy to use, with a nice graphical mixing desk - keeps me in touch with the traditional physical aspect of a desk!:D
    Plenty of effects built in - some very good, some not so, but for less than £50 RRP for the lowest spec version, (still more than sufficient for home recording), you can't go wrong.

You can also record tracks simultaneously, add DSP and other effects to the library etc etc.

Oh yes, it's PC only......I think.

Check it out!;)

4. tartanphantom

tartanphantom Friend of Fred

Jul 30, 2008
    Murfreesboro, TN
    If you have a Mac, the built-in Garage Band program is an excellent place to start for free!

If you have a PC, the latest version of Audacity is freeware, and is a good place to start for experimenting.

5. Gros Ouaso

Gros Ouaso Country Gent

Apr 13, 2010
    Trois-Rivières
  6. Fox Rox

Fox Rox Gretschie

Nov 8, 2009
    Waterloo, ON
    If you have a Mac I also highly recommend GarageBand. It is very intuitive and powerful. I use an Apogee Duet as my interface.

7. mikante

mikante Country Gent

Aug 11, 2009
    italy
    Grage Band for ever, easy to use and it does almost everything you need for any recording at home.

8. jbcallender

jbcallender Gretschie

Nov 21, 2010
    San Antonio, TX