Rate the Blacktops.

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by BCRatRod73, Sep 21, 2020.

1. BCRatRod73

BCRatRod73 Gretschie

Sep 1, 2020
    Mississippi
    For any of you here with experience with these pickups, how do they compare to other Gretsch Filters? I’m still new to the Gretsch world so I just want some opinions on these pickups. Where would you rank them against other Filter’Trons? I’m liking them a lot as they are a nice change of pace for me. What do you like about them? What don’t you like about them?
    Thanks.

2. Tele295

Tele295 Country Gent

I like the blacktops on my 5220. They pop a little more than the TVJ Classic pups in my 5120. It’s not a Dearmond or HiLo sound exactly, but it catches enough of that flavor to make it an interesting choice. A11DFAA6-F174-4A0F-AA5C-711F2208F905.jpeg

BorderRadio, Marv666, michelb and 2 others like this.
  3. BCRatRod73

BCRatRod73 Gretschie

Sep 1, 2020
    Mississippi
    Thanks for the input. I want to try some Dynasonics.

4. xtcclassic

xtcclassic Gretschie

Jan 9, 2019
    Missouri
    I assume you’re talking about the Blacktop Filter’Trons? They’re great sounding pickups, especially if you play with a dirtier tone. IMHO they lack a bit of something compared to TVJ’s - I’m not sure what, exactly (TVJ’s maybe have a more openness and sweetness on the highs?) but at the same time they have their own sound that is cool in its own way. I’ve not tried the Gretsch High Sensitivity Filter’Trons so I can’t compare those, but I have several TVJ’s which replaced the stock Blacktops in my various Electromatics so I’m very familiar with how those compare. While I do obviously like TVJ’s better, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with the Blacktops, including the Blacktop Broad’Trons which I like even more than the Filter’Trons.

Marv666 and BCRatRod73 like this.
  5. BCRatRod73

BCRatRod73 Gretschie

Sep 1, 2020
    Mississippi
    Yeah, BT Filters.