Questions from a Newbie

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by Jesse A, Oct 13, 2021 at 6:46 PM.

1. Jesse A

Jesse A Newbie

Wednesday
    Delaware
    Hi all,

My name is Jesse, and I'm a new Gretsch owner. I've visited this forum regularly for good information, and I've found it to be a really nice place.

I recently purchased a Streamliner 2627t. I had played one at a local GC and really fell in love with the feel of the neck as well as the myriad of tones that I could get out of the pickup combinations, so I ordered one in Shoreline Gold when they went on sale. (hence the pic).

I've been playing it for a few months, and I've hit a few snags. Two things that I have noticed: one, it appears to have a grounding issue. Interestingly, it happens when I use the Bigsby, and only rarely, but when it does, the volume drops or disappears completely. I've rewired hollow body and semi hollows before, so I'm not scared.

I've also discovered that the bridge pickup has a markedly lower output than the neck and middle. In fact, I've only recently noticed that the bridge pickup is a dud because the neck and middle pickups sounded so good. It might be connected to the grounding issue. I haven't ohmed it out yet, and the pickup height is commensurate with the other two in relation to the strings.

Since I'm going to be digging in the wire, and since it is a nice-if-not-precious guitar, I'm contemplating some sort of filtertron style pickups. I've never owned a guitar with filtertrons before, and this guitar really sold me on the three humbucker approach. (I rewired a Squier Strat with three humbuckers after buying the Gretsch. It's the best sounding Squier I've ever owned now.)

Neck and bridge filtertrons are to taste I know, but what would be a good middle position filtertron? Has anyone had any experience with Guitar Fetish filtertrons? I'd go TV Jones, but I hate buying pickups that would be worth more than the guitar.

Thanks in advance.
    Jesse