New to Electrics

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by Paul Kemper, Feb 24, 2021.

1. Paul Kemper

Paul Kemper Newbie

Feb 14, 2021
    Sonora, CA
    Good morning to all. My Name is Paul and I am an absolutely new electric guitar player. I recently bought a new Gretsch G2655 Streamliner and I'm loving it.

I've been playing acoustics for over 20 years and was concerned about transitioning to an electric. I always liked the appearance and great reputation of Gretsch guitars so I contacted my Sweetwater Music sales engineer. After a little discussion I decided on the G2655 and had Sweetwater set up the guitar with 11 gauge strings to help facilitate the transition to electric. It was perfect, wonderful small size for this old man and plays smooth as butter.

This forum sure is great, both for info and accommodating members. I'll be visiting often.

Paul

speedicut, rebuhrman, Jena and 5 others like this.
  2. JC higgy

JC higgy Gretschified

Jun 6, 2008
    Belfast Norn Iron
    Welcome to GT Paul!

And congrats on the new geet.

3. audept

audept Senior Gretsch-Talker

Dec 1, 2010
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome to the forum, Paul!
    welcome mat 121.jpg

4. wabash slim

wabash slim Gretschified

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    Howdy! Welcome to the madhouse!
    You've made a great choice in a first electric. Now you get to pick an amp as well. For home use, you'll likely want to stay under 20 watts. There's no need for any more than that. You can even gig with that small of an amp. Try as many amps as you can--both -solid state and tube. Many of us like tubes, but solid state usually allows earphone use, so for quiet practice they have an advantage. Hold off on getting pedals. Most amps will have a reverb (a must for me) and tremolo. Many solid state amps will have other built in effects so you can see which you like before you invest in pedals.