Love my Gretsch...time for Tru-Arc?

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by birdawesome, Aug 6, 2020.

1. birdawesome

birdawesome Electromatic

Aug 6, 2020
    Austin, TX
    Hey guys, newbie here...

I recently bought a white Gretsch Electromatic G5655TG (love these names lol) and couldn't be happier. I was a bit hesitant going for this model considering the country of manufacture is China, however after doing some digging I felt assured that the quality control would be there, as you can get great quality from China if you're paying for it.

Well, apparently Gretsch did pay for it because the guitar seems flawless aside from some very slightly wobbly pots. But hey, it's one of those things that I'll only be able to notice. I did, however, have some issues with tuning stability, but after getting the Bricks Biggs Fix that issue is pretty much gone unless I really go to town on the tremolo arm. Still a bit of instability here and there, but I attribute that to the Tune-O-Matic and its edges, as I've lightly sanded and lubed my nut (NuBone) and doubt it could be an issue at this point.

I'd like to get the Tru-Arc for the added sustain/tone, if even incremental in performance, as I feel the bar bridge would allow the strings to glide over them much better than a fixed (albeit rocking) Tuna. I looked into the Compton bridges as well, but I honestly just kind of like the more vintage look of the Tru-Arc.

I emailed Tim at a couple emails I found across Google not knowing which was correct, and it's only been a few days, but I haven't heard back from him yet. I understand he's a busy guy, so I'm not sweating it, but I did want to make sure he still makes the suckers in the first place, as I haven't really seen a whole lot of recent information about them.

Can anyone confirm he's still doing the Lord's work, and can they attest to his product's preceding reputation? Happy to be here.

61803316710__6AA3D2AF-BD4C-4155-8C99-4C93F691BF1E.jpg