Like a NGD but Not

Discussion in 'Other Cool Guitars' started by diamoroso, Jul 31, 2020.

1. diamoroso

diamoroso Gretschie

Feb 4, 2019
    San Diego, CA
    Thought some of you could probably appreciate this guitar, and am excited to show it off. I've actually owned this guitar since about a year after I started playing guitar, when I was 14/15 in the summer of 2001 I believe. This Vega C-86 Deluxe was purchased by my dad's Godfather brand new at some point in the 40s, who played the heck out of it to the point you can see indentations in the neck from his wedding ring. When he passed away in the 60's the guitar was left to my dad, who despite being a massive Jimmy Page fan, never had much interest in playing the guitar. At some point probably in the 70s my dad gave this guitar to one of his closest friends, who is a player. At some point the guitar was put into my dad's friend's attic, where it sat for who knows how long, possibly several decades. Once I began playing guitar, he decided to dig it out and give it to me during an annual vacation my family always took with his.

It was my only acoustic guitar for years, I played it regularly for years, even busking with it as a teenager. Once I moved out of my parents house at 18, I left the guitar behind to make sure is stayed safe. I went to a music college, moved up and down the West Coast a few times, and didn't touch the guitar for probably another decade. Eventually I was a starting to live life a little bit more like an adult, and I took the guitar back. It was basically unplayable, cracks in the wood, bent neck (no truss rod), worn frets, bent bridge, etc, etc. I kept it around the house as a display piece for a couple more years, until I finally decided to have some restoration work done a couple months ago. I dropped it off with one of the top luthiers in the San Diego area (Fred at Repair Zone for any SD folk) and asked him to make it as solid and playable as he possibly could.