Is there a good low ampage tube amp?

Discussion in 'Ampage Area' started by Midlifecrisis71, Jan 1, 2022.

1. Midlifecrisis71

Midlifecrisis71 Electromatic

Nov 26, 2021
    Exeter, U.K
    I am new to playing guitar and have a Fender LT25 modelling amp but want a natural amp so I can hear the proper tone of my guitar. My playing is terrible more akin to drowning cats than Stray Cats (;)) so I need it to be quiet but still get the tone from it.....any recommendations?

Cheers Gary.

I mean low output/quiet.

2. Gretschtim1

Gretschtim1 Country Gent

Dec 4, 2012
    Dundalk, Md
    There's many of them out there these days.
    Try the 1/2 watt to 5 watt Bugera T5. You can use head phones with it too.
    It's sound is somewhere between Vox & Fender.

3. tmcq65

tmcq65 Electromatic

Nov 10, 2021
    Pennsylvania
    I like my Fender Bassbreaker 15. It has a structure switch with three gain settings, a gain knob and a master volume, so it's easy to setup the amount of breakup you want at any volume. I'm finding this week, since I'm off work and playing all day, that it really sounds amazing after it's been on for a few hours.

4. bluenote23

bluenote23 Country Gent

Oct 17, 2009
    Montreal, Canada
    Again, not answering your question (sorry about that) but it depends on what 'quiet' means. I have a 7 watt Fender Vibro Champ clone and it is too loud for me. Quiet for me means my neighbours (in a duplex) or someone in the next room not being bothered by my playing.

So if this is what quiet means to you then maybe someone has an answer but I don't, at least not in terms of an amp.

If you want to be able to practice and really hear your guitar like you think it should sound, I would suggest a Waza Air. Most folks will not want to pay this kind of money for a pair of headphones but if you can afford the luxury, you won't turn back. This is not like practicing using the headphone output of an amp but a very different experience. Costly but ideal often is.