Immediate Gretsch Acolyte

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by PorscheGretsch, Jan 19, 2021.

Tags:
  1. PorscheGretsch

PorscheGretsch Electromatic

Jan 19, 2021
    Canada
    Hey everyone, I’m new here, obviously. I bought my G5620 last year when lockdown restrictions eased off here in Canada, but I still needed something to do. I’ve been playing guitar for about 15 years, with a Tele mainly, and wanted to spice things up.

I’d plateaued, wasn’t giving my playing the time it needed, and found this beauty used. Had to have it. From the first chord I played, I was sold. I immediately bought it, and started researching Gretsch more in depth. I found I agreed with the main concerns with the guitar: harsher bridge pickup, rattly stock bridge, nothing dealbreaking, but I’d committed to this guitar and felt it deserved some real love.

To try and bridge the gap between Electromatics and the pro tier Gretsches, I bought some TV Jones classics, but might only install the bridge PU for the time being. I looked into replacement bridges. Schaller, Bigsby, Tru-Arc... the latter was appealing, but I decided to splurge on a Titanium tone-chambered Compton. Go big or go home. Emailed Wayne, got my measurements ready, then he replied today saying he doesn’t make a bridge for my model guitar.

I’m obviously disappointed, especially after seeing other 5620s with Comptons installed on this forum. I could never be that customer demanding service and being an *******, but I’m curious for an explanation. That may very well be the case, but if it can be done I’d do what it needs to fit it, unless it’s actually incompatible with the model and that all these guys who’ve done it did it wrong lol. If it’s because COVID makes things too big a pain in the ass or because I live in Canada, I get that too. I firmly believe any service provider, custom work especially is entitled to refuse.