How much should I charge for audio work?

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by Seamus, Jun 1, 2021.

1. Seamus

Seamus Synchromatic

Feb 25, 2011
    New England
    Howdy, all -- been a dog's age since I visited here. Not by choice, but by lack of time, thanks to some discoveries that led to embarking on a divorce. Yay!

Anyway -- I just got a bead on a likely gig as an audio editor/producer for a podcast. Regular work, very few hours per week. They asked my hourly rate, and since I usually work as a writer, I have no idea what to charge for this. (I've got lots of experience, but I was on salary.) Anyone do this kind of work? Looking for recommendations on what to ask for.

Thanks!

2. THISISDINOSAUR

THISISDINOSAUR Electromatic

Oct 21, 2019
    London
    I can’t comment on audio work specifically, but I’ve always heard you should take your annual salary, chop off the k, and double it to get your hourly rate. So if you were on $40k, your hourly rate would be $80. It’ll depend a lot on the industry though I imagine...

3. MotorCentaur

MotorCentaur Synchromatic

May 11, 2016
    Seattle
    The fewer the hours the higher the rate. You have to make it worth your while too. Even if it's "charity", someone is monetizing it. Think about how much you feel you would want to be paid for it when the novelty has worn off and you are facing a deadline. Then think about your costs of overhead, including whatever income taxes you will be liable for.

If you wanted personally to take home $300 weekly for 4 hours of work ($75/hr), you would have to charge $125/hr. You should also have a set minimum charge.

Here in Seattle, there was an IT/ computer repair guy that I had do some work on my laptop. He was working out of his apartment. He charged me like $75/hr. 5 years later and he's got an office in Edmonds (suburb) and charges $300/hr.

It can just be all over the place, and you should charge whatever the going rate is locally, factored by above comments.

4. Seamus