Hello!

Discussion in 'New Member Intros' started by EsquireBoy, Aug 12, 2020.

1. EsquireBoy

EsquireBoy Electromatic

Aug 12, 2020
    France
    Greetings everyone!

I’m very new here, although some may recognize me from the TDPRI forum.

I’ve been playing for 30 years, and for my upcoming 40th birthday my gift will be a Gretsch guitar.

For some months now I’ve been taking lessons with Adam Levy and I’m experiencing a shift in my musical tastes towards jazz and « roots » music.

Nowadays my only electric is a Fender Esquire which I love, but I want a hollowbody to pair with it.

I’m set on a 6120, though I’m not set yet on dynas vs filtertrons since I like both!

I’m leaning toward a RHH or a DE signature. But since there is none of them I can try here around Paris, I’m planning on ordering both online, play them for a couple of weeks and keep the one I bond the most with.

I have mixed feelings about doing this, but I guess it’s the best way to be sure I make the right choice.

My main questions right now are:

• since I only use flatwounds, do filtertrons can be too muddy with them? (The two amps I use are not particularly bright amps)
    • I want the hollowbody character of the guitar to shine through, and I’m not sure which ones of dynas or filtertrons will allow this the most.

Anyway, I would welcome any wise advice from you Gretsch enthusiasts!

Cheers,

Thomas.

2. Groutsch

Groutsch Gretschie

Jun 9, 2018
    Maryland, US
    Welcome, Thomas! There's only one way to resolve the Dynasonic vs. Filtertron question, and that's to have one guitar with each. :)

Flatwounds and Filtertrons are a classic combination. Here's a clip with them, and the sound seems bright enough:

I have a guitar with flatwounds and DeArmond 2K pickups, which are similar to Dynasonics, and I like it a lot, too. The single-coil Dynas have a little more bite than Filtertrons, but both pickup styles deliver classic tones.