Guitars with sentimental significance for you?

Discussion in 'Other Cool Guitars' started by JT19, Jul 12, 2020.

1. JT19

JT19 Gretschie

Nov 28, 2009
    Atlanta, GA
    I thought it would be cool to hear stories about guitars that have sentimental significance for you.

I've bought and sold way too many guitars over the years, but there is one guitar that I'll never part with (again).

Back in 2005, when I was an active recording/performing fingerstyle guitarist, I had a guitar custom built for me by luthier Kent Hamblin. It featured a cedar top, flamed "fiddleback" mahogany back and sides, and a longer 25.7" scale length, since I used dropped tunings (DADGAD, CGDGAD, and CGCGCD) almost exclusively.

As an extra personal touch, my friend--and talented inlay artist--Bill Nichols inlaid my signature (in maple, to match the guitar's bindings) into the back of the headstock.

A few years later, I went through a rough patch and had to sell off some of my expensive guitars, including this one. I'm not sure what its history was over the next 10 years... but two years ago, my son Owen happened to see it listed for sale on a guitar forum, and he decided to buy it back for me as a surprise birthday gift.

Now... my son had recently graduated from high school and started his first real job. This is the most expensive guitar I've ever owned--and I have no idea how much he paid to reacquire it. But it must have taken an incredible amount of patience and sacrifice to slowly save up the funds for it.

When he presented it to me on my birthday, I was so shocked I couldn't even speak. I just looked back and forth between Owen and the guitar in disbelief until my eyes welled up with tears. Even now, it's hard not to get choked up talking about it.

Needless to say, this guitar will never change hands again... at least until I'm gone and it gets passed back to my son.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]