Gretsch Super HiloTron question

Discussion in 'The Pickup Place' started by Txrsm, Jan 11, 2021.

1. Txrsm

Txrsm Electromatic

Jan 1, 2021
    Texas
    Hey guys and gals...quick question as I am still new to the world of filtertrons. Are Super Hilotrons like HS filtertrons from a tone perspective or are they two totally different animals tonally? Can the SUper Hilo do the traditional stereotypical Filtertron sound? I see things like blacktop broadtrons when they sorta look the same as blacktop filtertrons so I’m just trying to gather my bearings.

2. Tele295

Tele295 Country Gent

I think super Hilo pickups are HS filtertrons with one row of pole pieces removed

Txrsm and new6659 like this.
  3. montereyjack66

montereyjack66 Country Gent

Feb 29, 2012
    LA-ish
    Hilotrons are really damn clear. Clean enough to annoy some folks. For others, it's like pristine syrup, serenity, and seduction. Super hilotrons are the same with a bit of gnarl. However, a pre-amp alters the equation.

Txrsm likes this.
  4. AllenK

AllenK Gretschie

Although still dual core pickups, the SHT's have more of a single core character to them. Sort of somewhere in between a Filtertron and regular Hilotron. They are quite low output but I never had any issues if I wanted to push into over-driven sounds. I have them on a 5622.

hcsterg likes this.
  5. aFriendbFrosty

aFriendbFrosty Gretschie

May 22, 2020
    West Coast
    This is always a fun video to watch... and it has the added bonus of being a SuperHilotron equipped Gretsch:D

AllenK, GVDobler, drmilktruck and 2 others like this.
  6. Mr. Lumbergh

Mr. Lumbergh Country Gent

May 14, 2013
    Initech, Inc.
    The original HiLo's were a cost-saving measure back in the day and are essentially a standard filter with a coil missing and a relocated magnet. Low output, bright and clear.