G5129 PICKUP INTO A 5120

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by Andrew Griffin, Jul 14, 2020.

1. Andrew Griffin

Andrew Griffin Synchromatic

Oct 22, 2015
    Hi All: I have no experience modding and maybe one of you can give me some advice. I've got a 5129 I got used- love the pickups but the guitar was cheap for a reason ( or rather several reasons.) A lovely, near mint, orange (I'm a sucker for orange) 5120 has cone up for sale nearby. I'd like to buy it and swap out the stock Gretchbuckers with the DeArmonds from the 5129. Does anybody know if the fit would be good into the 5120? On a related note, why won't Gretsch make a 5420 with single coils? I'd buy one in a heartbeat. Thanks in advance for any hints.

2. Uncle Daddy

Uncle Daddy Friend of Fred

Jan 19, 2012
    Maldon UK
    They're not a direct swap. I've seen them screwed onto the Gretchbucker pickup rings before, but that looked a bit naff.

Andrew Griffin likes this.
  3. Randy99CL

Randy99CL Synchromatic

Feb 17, 2020
    Albuquerque
    First, I have a G5129T and love it, it is a great guitar. They're pretty rare so first I'd check into getting yours fixed. But I understand it may not be worth it.

I'm a DIY kind of guy and wouldn't be afraid to try this swap.
    I compared the DeArmonds with the HBs (and pickup rings) in my G2622 (not exactly the same as a G5120) and it wouldn't be an easy swap. The DeAs have no trim rings and are mounted on spacers while the others have larger rings with screw holes that might show if you eliminated them.
    I saw somewhere a company makes pickup rings that are like a block-off plate to put single-coils into HB routes. They could be cut out for the DeAs.
    And I haven't taken the pickups out to see what holes are in the bodies.

So this would be a custom job, modding the trim rings to take the DeAs. If you wouldn't want to do it yourself you can obviously check around for a tech who would.

4. Andrew Griffin

Oct 22, 2015