Econo Hard Case or Good Gig Bag?

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by MrWookiee, Jul 23, 2020.

1. MrWookiee

MrWookiee Electromatic

Jun 17, 2020
    SoCal, USA
    I'm looking for something in which to carry my G2627T. Considering that I'm a beginner, and not planning to gig any time soon (not on guitar anyway), I'll probably only take my guitar to a shop (for a setup) or to a friend's house (to learn/jam). I have hard cases for all of my horns but the new Protec Gold hollowbody gig bag looks great for $65 compared to a cheap-o Gretsch hard case at twice the price. The Gator 335-sized hard case looks better than the Gretch case though. Yeah, I'm over-thinking... as usual.

CKC411 and Back in Black like this.
  2. CaliforniaSlim

CaliforniaSlim Gretschie

Jul 21, 2016
    My 2 cents- get a hard case. Any old one that fits the guitar. They just offer more protection.

hcsterg, Zeek, Johnny ray and 5 others like this.
  3. Gregor

Gregor Gretschie

Oct 17, 2018
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Slim has my vote. You might find a used one on Craig's List or some such place. Even a "beat up" hard case will offer better protection than a gig bag imo....and if you think you won't bump or bang it on something, forget it. Talking from experience here and more than once.

4. wabash slim

wabash slim Gretschified

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    Hard case, hands down. It doesn't necessarily have to be a Gretsch branded case (Blasphemy!). I found Epi cases to fit mine and saved $$$. Even some generic MF/GC cases might work.

5. capnhiho

capnhiho Synchromatic

Feb 16, 2013
    California
    Solid body guitars: gig bag OK
    Hollow body guitars: hard case only!

6. thunder58

thunder58 Super Moderator Staff Member

Dec 23, 2010
    tappan ny
    Admin Post
    Glarry Music - a step up from cardboard
    Guitar Fetish - a step up from Glarry

pilgrim, Dave Murray, PDMan and 2 others like this.
  7. MrWookiee

MrWookiee Electromatic

Jun 17, 2020