Best way to break out of a playing/practice rut

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by NWAttorney, May 5, 2011.

1. NWAttorney

NWAttorney Country Gent

Feb 27, 2010
    Idaho
    Ok all you advisers,

I've been playing now since last March (14 months ago), and have fallen into a rut big time. Any good ideas on how to mix things up? Make it fresh?

Maybe not playing at the end of the day when I'm dead tired would be a good start.

I'm all ears.

2. No-name

No-name Synchromatic

Jun 30, 2010
    Cody, WY
    Well, is it a rut or a plateau? I have lots of periods when I feel that I am not really learning new things or getting better. I usually get out of it by picking a new song to learn, usually from YouTube. or getting together with others and playing, if possible. but I don't know if there's any easy solution. I just play through them until I get inspired about something.

I think playing when tired can be a lot of it. If I pick up the guitar at the end of a day, after I've poured myself a pint, I don't expect to make any breakthroughs. even if I get into a good groove, I likely won't be able to find it again in the morning. my best results come on saturday morning while the Coffee is still flowing.

3. NWAttorney

NWAttorney Country Gent

Feb 27, 2010
    Idaho
    So you're saying not to practice late at night, when tired, after having a pint?? :).

I need a new song. I which I could play all the cool solos in the Eagle's "Get Over it", but the line "let's kill all the lawyers" just always sits a little funny with me.!

4. 5120mantis

5120mantis Country Gent

Mar 6, 2011
    nj
    listen to things you normally wouldn't listen to.

5. The Marlin

The Marlin Friend of Fred

Feb 2, 2011
    London...ish
    Have a few private lessons. Concentrate on theory, work with a different scale, and mode.
    That'll rattle your grey matter.

Mr Marlin

6. ishtar

ishtar Country Gent