Beginner: 5220 or 2622T?

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by rob 4088, Jan 17, 2021.

1. rob 4088

rob 4088 Electromatic

Jan 17, 2021
    London, UK
    Apologies for the duplicate post. I just joined today and posted the below on an existing thread in the Streamliner Forum and was advised to create my own thread here

Hi everyone,
    I'm a complete beginner at guitar, having taken it up a few weeks ago in my mid-50s.
    I have set myself an objective of learning to play 4 songs to an acceptable (i.e recognisable!) standard and I will treat myself to an electric guitar and amp. It will definitely be a Gretsch and my budget will permit me to buy either the Electromatic G5220 in Dark Metallic Cherry or the Streamliner G2622T in Riviera Blue (both are similar priced in the UK at around £400) and I've spent many enjoyable hours drooling over the Gretsch website and various YouTube reviews of both.
    My question is - as a complete novice which would you go for in terms of playability?
    I love the 5220 and it gets rave reviews about value-for-money. I know its components are arguably superior to the 2622T (being a series up) but a semi-acoustic with a Bigsby is what Gretsch is all about to me. If I get to such a high standard (unlikely!) that the 2622 frustrates me I will either modify it or trade up. But I am wondering if you guys think I'd progress more quickly with the 5220 due to it being solid body and hardtail and can up grade to a centre block with Bigsby once I'm more competent?
    I know I'm too old to ever be any good but am hoping to become a competent strummer and to have a few sing-songs with friends and family. Right now, I'm cursing at my fingers for failing to move quick enough between E, A and B7 for the intro of Summertime Blues....that's my pathetic level so I don't want anything that is harder to play as a novice than needs be.
    All advice and thoughts welcome. Thanks

2. radd

radd Country Gent

Dec 27, 2017