Bad news banjo actually good news

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by J Bird, Jun 28, 2021.

1. J Bird

J Bird Synchromatic

My grandfather's 30s B&D Silver Bell plectrum banjo that I started playing over 30 years ago just busted its (original?) drum head. Did it all by itself. This thing would honk like nobody's business. With a new head, she will most likely have a huge jump in chime. I never changed out the head because for nostalgia sake. That's my grandpa's finger grease.

So, what head should I get. I haven't even started looking, but I'm thinking clear plastic is mostly used these days.

20210628_152306.jpg

2. sgarnett

sgarnett Synchromatic

Apr 14, 2020
    Kentucky
    I don’t play banjo. I inherited two banjos ….

Dad used the frosted top white Weatherking heads.

Personally, on a vintage open back, I’d be tempted to try a Fiberskyn to somewhat preserve the character of it. However, you didn’t say whether you WANT a big jump in chime from a new head ….

J Bird likes this.
  3. wildeman

wildeman I Bleed Orange

May 10, 2015
    norcal
    Oh man, that thing would get a new skin head if it was mine but if you insist on plastic, a frosted Weather King. You should get a banjo uke and re-use Grandpa's old head.
    My old Leedy plectrum came with a nicely worn Weather King and sounds great, i prefer my Stromberg Voisinet with the skin for most stuff though. 20210628_165738.jpg

Last edited: Jun 28, 2021
    J Bird likes this.
  4. Congrats on the banjo! I have a bacon and day tenor from 1926. That head is some sort of skin pulled tight. Never took it off, but dont play it that much as I have a few tenor guitars.

Try banjo.com or banjoben.com. They have the answers.

J Bird likes this.
  5. J Bird

J Bird Synchromatic