Anybody ever worked with an orchestra?

Discussion in 'Gretsch-Talk Music' started by Rob_Brindley, Jan 13, 2021 at 4:06 AM.

1. Rob_Brindley

Rob_Brindley Gretschie

Jul 22, 2019
    Stoke-On-Trent, England
    Bit of a strange question, but hear me out...

I've written a few tracks that I would love get an orchestra to play on - similar to BSO in style (but nowhere near as good). I'm not great with the theory side of stuff, I don't read/write music and I've never worked with an orchestra before. I'm curious if any of the members here have had any experience recording with an orchestra?

What's required? (Instruments / Sheet music etc...)
    What do you think the minimum setup required is to get the sound I want? (Do I really need a 17 piece band for recording or could I multitrack the same trumpet / sax player 3 or 4 times

Lastly, erm... Does anybody know an orchestra?

I've wanted to do this for years and have been slowly writing songs with it in mind, but I've got no idea how to actually go about it. I've got no intention of actually gigging the orchestra setup - the logistics and cost of that would be enormous! I just like the idea of putting together an EP / Album's worth of tracks for fun. Who doesn't like a challenge?

Floo likes this.
  2. Gretschmen65

Gretschmen65 Country Gent

May 20, 2016
    QLD Australia
    Well, you are in for the experience of a lifetime.
    If you don't read/write yourself you will need a competent assistant who can.
    Sheet music for the "orchestra " comes in about 5or 6 sets. Remember each brass instrument can have a different key with different parts, as well as bass staff and vocalists,
    None of them want to see what the other players need.
    Most of the instruments are single note pieces and your chords mean nothing to many of the players. In fact they clutter up the sheets.