Aloha , New to Ukulele , New to Gretsch

rosa_m

Electromatic
Oct 26, 2021
Hawaii
Aloha ,
I just started playing ukulele and I like Hawaiian music .
The Gretsch g9100 has caught my attention .
I'm seeing mostly the standard soprano and long neck on You Tube but I'm more interested in the concert size .
So , I'd like to hear feedback on that model from anyone that has one .
Mahalo ,
Rosa

BrianW

Country Gent
Oct 21, 2014
Vancouver Island
Sorry I can't give feedback on the 9100 - never had one. However, welcome to the forum and hopefully somebody will be along soon that is familiar with it

cheers

Dana Rudd

Country Gent
Nov 26, 2019
Greybull, WY
Hello Rosa_m and welcome to the forum.

I know nothing about ukuleles, so I can't help. Hopefully other members can answer your questions.

Gregor

Country Gent
Oct 17, 2018
New Brunswick, Canada
Welcome Rosa. I used to play uke when I was much younger but gave it to my granddaughter. Sorry I'm no help re your question but someone here should be able to.

Scamp

Gretschie
Feb 22, 2018
SoCal
Welcome Rosa..Couple years back I got a baritone uke. It was fun to play. Played and tuned just like a six string guitar, without the two lower strings, which was a big reason for me to buy it. Don't remember the brand, I got it from a ukulele store near me.
Did you check out the post about what makes Hawaiian music? Maybe someone on that post might be able to help

Tele295

Country Gent
Jun 4, 2008
Bigsby Springs, CA
I’ve played the Gretsch tenor. It’s a good instrument at that price point, but I would switch out the strings for fluorocarbons (PhD, Worth, etc.) immediately.

rcboals

Country Gent
Nov 21, 2008
Springfield Oregon
Aloha ,
I just started playing ukulele and I like Hawaiian music .
The Gretsch g9100 has caught my attention .
I'm seeing mostly the standard soprano and long neck on You Tube but I'm more interested in the concert size .
So , I'd like to hear feedback on that model from anyone that has one .
Mahalo ,
Rosa