1966 Country Gent Supertron Pickup??

Discussion in 'Vintage Gretsch Discussion' started by gretschfan, Sep 15, 2021.

1. gretschfan

gretschfan Electromatic

Jul 24, 2011
    Ft lauderdale, Fl.
    Hey folks,

i just picked up a 1966 Chet Atkins Country Gentleman restoration project and am having some issues finding info on the supertron in the neck. The guitar needs binding replacement/repair and probably a neck reset all of which I can do. I am a luthier with experience, however am admittedly not a Gretsch expert. Looking over the supertron pickup, it looks to have different pickup cover compared to all of the 66 Country Gents with this pickup arrangement. However it seems that from 64-69 lots of variations exists. I can’t seem to find a concrete answer on this. If anyone can shed some light or help guide me on what I have besides a project, that would be great.

Attached Files:

Outlaw likes this.
  2. afire

afire Country Gent

Am I out of my mind or am I seeing the magnet sitting outside of the pickup, wedged between the SuperTron blades?

3. gretschfan

gretschfan Electromatic

Jul 24, 2011
    Ft lauderdale, Fl.
    It very well could be. Apparently the magnets on these and the filtertrons were not glued. They were sandwiched between the back of the bobbin and the baseplate.

4. gretschfan

gretschfan Electromatic

Jul 24, 2011
    Ft lauderdale, Fl.
    I received the guitar and further evaluated. That was definitely the magnet bar from the filtertron. Guitar needs a neck reset, neck binding, body binding repair and a strap button. Will also need some filtertron pole screws. Will be a fun project.

Electrosynthesis and Outlaw like this.
  5. afire

afire Country Gent

That's funny. I wonder if it slid out and just stuck to the nearest magnetic object, or slid out and somebody had no idea what to do and it just happened to fit there.

Anyway, glad to see a worthy guitar like this end up in the hands of somebody who knows what to do with it.

6. gretschfan