Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Would love to hear your favorite streamliner tones...

Discussion in 'Streamliner Gretsch Forum' started by MrClint, Nov 27, 2017.

1. MrClint

MrClint Electromatic

Nov 27, 2017
    Lake Balboa, CA
    I'm just getting started playing my Gretsch G2622 through a Mustang I v.2 amp. It would be great to hear some of your preferred tones and/or how you have things setup. I'm starting to like playing in the middle position with volume on the neck pup turned way down and tone down just a bit. This seems to sound good with a wide range of downloadable presets for my amp. Any sound links or descriptions would be welcomed.

Andrew Griffin likes this.
  2. LivingMyDream

LivingMyDream Country Gent

MrClint, I don't have a Streamliner, so I can say much on this thread, other than . . . welcome to Gretsch-Talk MrClint!

3. MarkyMac

MarkyMac Gretschie

Welcome MrClint.
    I've had the Streamliner G2655t for 18 months and absolutely love it!
    After much 'knobbing' around, I've found the rather 'cheapish' pots have limited effect.
    I've 'locked off' the tone dial roughly in the middle, Neck and Bridge Pups flat out, and the best change in tone then comes from the 3 pickup switch positions.
    They give totally different, and very usable tones depending on what I'm playing.
    I also tinkered with subtle adjustments to the PUP heights, (Playing with the 2x screws on the PUP housings... I ain't touching the ones under each string)
    I've now got pretty much all the sounds I love.
    They really are amazing Geets for the $$$
    Enjoy!!! Cheers Mark - QLD Australia

section2 and MrClint like this.
  4. JimB1122

JimB1122 Gretschie

Dec 15, 2016
    Silver Bay, Minnesota
    Agreed. The tone pots don't do much. I turn up the pup tone and volume knobs all the way. Then, use the master volume and pickup selector switch. That gives 3 distinct tones.

section2 and MarkyMac like this.
  5. wildeman

wildeman Friend of Fred

May 10, 2015
    norcal