Which acoustic strings are your favorites?

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by not_man_davo, Sep 20, 2019.

1. not_man_davo

not_man_davo Synchromatic

Feb 13, 2015
    tejas
    Hey Y'all,

So I got my first acoustic guitar about a month or so ago, and I'm really loving it. I know right next to nothing about playing acoustic though, as I have never really had an interest in it before.

I know it's a newb question, but I'm a newb and I'm comfortable with that.

That said, which strings do you love on your acoustic? I have a Martin D-28 and it came with Martin strings. They are absolutely fine with me, but I wouldn't know if I'm missing something. Are there transcendent strings out there that will change the way I think about the universe and give me the gift of enlightenment? If so, I NEED to know about em.

2. MTurner

MTurner Friend of Fred

Aug 17, 2010
    Clayton, North Carolina, USA
    I use Martin strings on one of my Yamahas and D’Addario EJ-16s on the other. Bought some lighter D’Addarios to try on one of them.

Strings are cheap. Try different ones and you’ll eventually find the ones for you.

not_man_davo likes this.
  3. swivel

swivel Synchromatic

May 13, 2018
    PNW
    I'm currently using Dunlop for the price. Frankly, They seem just fine to me. I'm trying to remember, but I think it's Phosphor Bronze that seems to corrode from sweat very fast and I like 80/20 bronze better.

not_man_davo likes this.
  4. not_man_davo

Feb 13, 2015
    tejas
    Ultimately this is my plan, but I wanted to have a jumping off point from here. I really do like the Martin strings that came on it, and I would be totally fine with the same ones forever, but I don't wanna do that if there's something incredible out there. I had never heard of Tomastik strings before someone here mentioned them, and now I have em on my 6120 all the time. They're pricey, but they're good! also, I HATE changing strings so the longevity makes the price totally worth it to me.