Join Gretsch-Talk Today

What is going on with Gretsch and the Setzer models?

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by PDMan, Sep 7, 2017.

1. PDMan

PDMan Electromatic

Dec 26, 2016
    Nashville, TN
    So, I ordered a Brian Setzer Nashville from Musicians Friend in early August and the back order date was September 1st. By the 1st, it had been pushed back to September 24th and, as of earlier today, it has been pushed back further to November 21st. Hardly any of the online retailers have the Setzer Nashvilles in stock - Guitar Center has even removed them from their website. Is there something going on between Setzer and Gretsch or are they just woefully behind filling orders? Ironically, I have noticed he's not using the dice knobs anymore and has gone back to the stock Gretsch knobs on his summer tour.

I've been ordering guitars for over 40 years and I've never experienced this long a backorder.

2. Uncle Daddy

Uncle Daddy Country Gent

Jan 19, 2012
    Maldon UK
    Might be something to do with the Cites regulations?

3. PDMan

PDMan Electromatic

Dec 26, 2016
    Nashville, TN
    That's for rosewood, right? I don't remember seeing any rosewood in the specs. Primarily maple with an ebony fretboard.

4. MotorCentaur

MotorCentaur Gretschie

May 11, 2016
    Seattle
    It's Musicians Fiend.

They did this to me a few years back on a Schecter Baritone.

They sell what they don't have in stock. There's an arbitrary in "shipment date", that's always a few weeks out.

It'll get there eventually...............

I don't want to talk to much about my particular case, cuz it still makes me angry thinking about it.
    The short story is they kept sending me a right handed guitar. Some boxes were labeled Lefty, a couple were not. It took over 8 months to sort out.