Join Gretsch-Talk Today

Volume issue 2655T Streamliner ??

Discussion in 'Streamliner Gretsch Forum' started by GuitarSC, Jan 9, 2018.

1. GuitarSC

GuitarSC Newbie

Jan 9, 2018
    Lexington, SC
    I'm relatively new to electronic repairs and trying to help a local musician friend ,
    Here's the setup:
    Master volume all the way up
    Neck & Bridge volume all the way up ,
    3 way switch in the middle position ,

My question is : When you roll off the neck or bridge volume more then 1/2 turn , The guitar goes completely silent , I'm not sure if it's supposed to operate this way or if I may have a bad pot

What we hoped to have happen if possible: We would like to have the neck and bridge pickups be able to blend and also use the master volume as intended without either volume control killing the whole guitar , Maybe this is what is supposed to happen and something has failed. Thanks for any help !

2. Jet_streamliner

Jet_streamliner Electromatic

Nov 21, 2017
    Minnesota
    My 2622 does this at the end of the roll off for either vol pots. It’s normal, I believe. The individual volumes allow you to blend the sounds.

3. Henry

Henry Friend of Fred

Apr 9, 2014
    Petaluma
    It may be normal in the sense that it is a design flaw. Same issue on my 5622v1. You should be able to turn a pickup down without affecting the other. I am not a wiring pro but there shoukd be schematics available. Check the TV Jones website.

4. audept

audept I Bleed Orange

Dec 1, 2010
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome to the forum, GuitarSC!
    Welcome mat 45.jpg

5. JC higgy

JC higgy Friend of Fred

Jun 6, 2008
    Belfast Norn Iron
    Welcome to GT GuitarSC!

6. TW4990

TW4990 Gretschie

Aug 20, 2016
    Sydney Australia
    I am curious with this one too.
    My 2655 does the same, it always seemed strange to me, but I accepted it as normal.
    We need one of the more electronically minded to explain this weird phenomena.
    HELP!!!!

7. Fredo

Fredo Synchromatic