Travel guitar info.

Discussion in 'Other Cool Guitars' started by nickurso, Nov 30, 2019 at 11:53 PM.

1. nickurso

nickurso Gretschified

Dec 24, 2012
    New Orleans la.
    I’ve been traveling a lot lately and don’t bring a guitar because I fly. I’ve been thinking about getting a travel guitar, a cheap travel guitar. I saw that Hofner makes one that’s not expensive at all but I thought I would ask here for info. Thanks in advance

2. BrianW

BrianW Synchromatic

Oct 21, 2014
    Vancouver Island
    I got a Strobel travel guitar when I was travelling for a living. Through an iPad with headphones meant I could play it in the hotel at all the weird (late) hours we kept. Very quickly came apart and would fit in a briefcase that way. Good electronics, good design for removing the neck; all in all I was impressed. It has all the usual adjustments for action, neck relief etc, and sounds good.
    I will say however it was not the cheapest "travel guitar" out there, and is a solid body (which I wanted). But it wasn't really expensive either. Anyway I still have it and do play it at home.

Hope you find what you need. Mine was in use all the time on the road.

nickurso likes this.
  3. Ricochet

Ricochet I Bleed Orange

Nov 13, 2009
    Monkey Island
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2019 at 4:52 AM
    nickurso likes this.
  4. wabash slim

wabash slim Friend of Fred

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    I have a Martin Backpacker.
    Odd shape, but it fits just about anywhere, can be played in a recliner, and can double as a canoe paddle.
    Built like a tank as well. 24" scale.

nickurso likes this.
  5. Tony65x55

Tony65x55 Gretschified

Sep 23, 2011
    The 'Shwa, Ontario, Canada
    Hey Nick, I have a Treveler Speedster. It has a full scale fretboard and strings through the back. I pair it with one of those itty-bitty Fender Twin amps that run on a 9v battery. It plays great, and rarely needs anything more than strings. It has traveled all over the world with me.