Tone controls, volume, and pickup selector 5420T

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by cp73, Jul 8, 2018.

1. cp73

cp73 Electromatic

Dec 12, 2017
    Laguna Hill, CA
    Is it just me because I am a newb or do you really use all those tone and volume controls. I can tell a difference using the pickup selectors but the other 4 knobs just all seem to be volume control and do about the same thing. I seem to always have them turned up to max....How about you where are your knobs and do you really use them all? They sure do look nice though.

2. BorderRadio

BorderRadio Country Gent

Mar 6, 2014
    Phoenix, AZ
    With Filtertrons, nope. But it wouldn’t be Gretsch without them, for me anyways. With Dyna-types and Hilos, I use the tone knob more and the individual volumes maybe for the blend/middle position.

3. vyndance

vyndance Gretschie

Dec 12, 2014
    Bear Valley Springs, CA
    How big of an amp are you playing through?

4. Bertotti

Bertotti Country Gent

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
    I generally start with everything on 7 or 8 depends on the guitar, then increase from there. Onstrats this works well and I set the amp for it then adjust for the middle position and tweak from there, Something with four controls like the Minarik, with two tones and two volumes I tend to keep the tones cranked and the volumes at 9 or maxed and adjust the amp volume for it. I do not like that type of set up. The Gretsch is the easiest. I adjust the individual volumes for the best both pup balance for me, and use the master volume to adjust from there I set the individuals with the master on 7 or 8. I love the tone switch and find myself using it often but initial settings are done with it in the bypassed position. This is how I do it with any of my amps from a xxx half stack to the little jsx mini or vox nighttrain.

5. cp73

cp73 Electromatic

Dec 12, 2017
    Laguna Hill, CA
    Just a small line6 spider V30

6. cp73

cp73 Electromatic

Dec 12, 2017