The last few mods

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by section2, Feb 12, 2019.

Tags:
  1. section2

section2 Synchromatic

Dec 21, 2016
    Toronto
    I've been modding my G5620T little by little since I bought it six months ago. This morning, I finally added the finishing touch: a custom truss rod cover. I designed the wordmark and had it laser-cut and reverse-engraved by the good people at ponoko.com. Then I filled the engraving with white acrylic paint, followed by two coats of silver spraypaint on the back. It really pops--it doesn't come through in the photo, but the engraved portion seems to float on top of the silver, which I suppose it does.

20190212_094200.jpg

Other mods:
    • Replaced the stock Bigsby B70 with a V-cut B6C
    • Replaced the Bigsby spring with a Reverend soft spring
    • Replaced the stock fixed bridge with a floating Bigsby bridge
    • Added a custom reverse-engraved pickguard (also from ponoko.com)
    • Replaced the stock Grover tuners with Hipshot Open-Gear Grip-Locks with Imperial buttons (thanks, @englishman!)
    • Replaced the stock tone pots with CTS no-load 500k audio pots
    • Swapped out the stock 1/8" magnet in the bridge pickup for a vintage-spec Filtertron 1/4" rough cast magnet
    • Added a jack plate
    And with that, this guitar is finally done!

Now: on to my next project. (That job will involve a G5235 Pro Jet, a sheet of drum wrap, a trio of power tools, a soldering iron, and a whole lot of time. Stay tuned.)

20190211_195444.jpg

20190212_094230.jpg

20190212_094248.jpg

Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  2. new6659

new6659 Gretschie

Dec 10, 2018
    Southwestern Ontario
    I'm curious how you feel the magnet change affected the sound? The guitar looks great!

section2 likes this.
  3. section2

section2 Synchromatic

Dec 21, 2016
    Toronto