The Clash exhibition

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by ALS57, Dec 6, 2019.

1. ALS57

ALS57 Electromatic

Jun 17, 2019
    London
    The last time I saw this bass Paul Simonon was putting it to good use during a blistering set by the Clash at Sheffield Top Rank in November 1978. Now it's part of a Clash exhibition at The London Museum. A bit odd seeing some of this stuff again and a reminder of what a great live band they were, happy times...

Clash12.jpg
    Clash01.jpg
    Clash03.jpg
    Clash10.jpg

2. wildeman

wildeman Gretschified

May 10, 2015
    norcal
    Cool, that the bass on the London Calling cover?

3. ALS57

ALS57 Electromatic

Jun 17, 2019
    London
  4. hcsterg

hcsterg Country Gent

Feb 13, 2012
    France
    The Clash - yes, I was a student at that time... Great fun in a mid-crisis era ! ;)

We were in the Punk / New-Wave craze at that time in France (1978-1984). London was the place to be for recording music success. My friends were wearing Mods / Punk / New-Wave suits, looking like Zombies, Dandys or Crows ! Sony was issuing its first WalkMan (cassette model) for the most fortunates (it cost an arm and a leg :eek:). I bought my venerable ES335-TD LH and played in a band which was a clone of The Passions (unfortunately no pics... :()... Delay, Flanger... It was cool then... :rolleyes:

My favourite title from The Clash is "The Magnificent Seven" :

Along with the instrumental version "The Magnificent Dance" :

OK, these may be not their most representative style o_O, but this is nonetheless True Clash tunes... :cool:

A+!

Last edited: Dec 6, 2019
    Zeek and ALS57 like this.
  5. Jeff67

Jeff67 Gretschie

Nov 3, 2019
    Crockett, Texas
    Cool stuff! Man, I miss the Clash!

ALS57 likes this.
  6. mbkri

mbkri Country Gent

Sep 22, 2012
    Chicago
    What a band. What a time. Im not crazy about being 57 but Im so glad i was old enough to go to gigs and clubs in london in 78.