Join Gretsch-Talk Today

The Brown Falcon

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by Kingman33, Apr 13, 2018.

1. Kingman33

Kingman33 Newbie

Apr 13, 2018
    Chicago,Illinois
    BD89762F-4779-4366-A7A0-6211D0D2C0BF.jpeg EA863578-2F16-4783-930D-03C9293A7073.jpeg 111457FC-1D20-4877-AB67-DAF7392D43AC.jpeg 4368C777-8A54-4CB8-B925-5AFEDBA376D1.jpeg 680DE8D8-9126-476D-93C9-5FD07CBBEF32.jpeg I am brand new to this thread. What I found is this guitar claiming to be a Gretsch Brown Falcon? I'm pretty sure it doesn't exist. The asking price with hard shell case is $250,so I am pretty sure it's fake.

Attached Files:

MKunie likes this.
  2. MTurner

MTurner Friend of Fred

Aug 17, 2010
    Clayton, North Carolina, USA
    I am reasonably sure it's a fake, too. Aside from the fact that I've never heard of a Brown Falcon, it looks more like a Country Gentleman to me. The fret markers look "off" to me, as do the knobs. But then again I am very far from an expert.

The price says fake, or stolen.

3. bluenote23

bluenote23 Country Gent

Oct 17, 2009
    Montreal, Canada
    Well, with Gretschbuckers, a tension bar Bigsby and fake Grover beanbuttons and those bad fret markers, that is certainly no Japanese Gretsch.

What is disconcerting is that the fakers are now faking Terada serial numbers instead of 'made in USA'.

$250 is too much for that little firewood (and you'll poison yourself with noxious fumes if you try to burn it).

4. hcsterg

hcsterg Country Gent

Feb 13, 2012
    France
    Fake, indeed !

The one that I have bears exactly the same S/N° :

[​IMG]

I bought it for 100 euros with a hardbag, used, playable, but in need of some work. The name on the pickguard was Tennessee xxxx (deleted by pick scratches, but I suppose "Rose") :

[​IMG]

Comparison between the Fake ChinaGirl Gretsch (left) and the Regular Gretsch Tennessee Rose (right) :

[​IMG]