Replacing Tone Pot w/ a Tone Switch?

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by HypotenusLuvTriangle, Jan 22, 2020.

1. HypotenusLuvTriangle

HypotenusLuvTriangle Country Gent

Oct 27, 2010
    Whittier, Ca
    I don't like tone pots. I much prefer the tone switch. (i know i know... )

Looking over diagrams.... can I just replace a tone pot in an Electromatic with a tone switch?? and use the same wiring?
    Or is there something keeping that from happening? I'm not good with electrical diagrams...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. swivel

swivel Country Gent

May 13, 2018
    PNW
    What are you trying to accomplish? Two tone settings? like "No tone load" and "XXX resistance"?

3. Synchro

Synchro The artist formerly known as: Synchro Staff Member

Jun 2, 2008
    Tucson
    Admin Post
    You can. Basically, a tone switch is just a switch which allows you to connect the signal to ground through one of two capacitors or have the tone circuit isolated from ground when the switch is in the center position. It’s simple, and IMO, a superior design to a tone pot.

If you use the cap’ values of current production tone switch Gretsch you’ll find that the presets are fairly useful. I had experimented with a number of values and even tried building some fixed bridge circuits using a resistor and a cap’ but my 2018 G6119-1962 had a great tone circuit right outta the box.

Keep in mind that the architecture of the switch is not the same as a pickup switch.

4. G5422T

G5422T Country Gent

May 24, 2012
    usa
    Yes, you can change to a tone switch.

I had a preFMIC with the mini pots that were acting up, so I had TV Jones make me a new harness with the tone swich where the pot used to be.

I prefer the tone switch circuit.

Best of luck with yours.

5. Lockupyourfatdog

Lockupyourfatdog Gretschie

Aug 8, 2016
    Everett wa