NGD White Penguin

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by Joe M, Dec 6, 2018.

1. Joe M

Joe M Electromatic

Dec 6, 2018
    Michigan
    Just brought home a like-new used White Penguin. Since I'm relatively new to Gretsch guitars, I already have a couple of questions.....

First, what is the finish on this beauty? Appears to be some kind of urethane, not nitro. Am I correct?

Second, I have never had a guitar fit in it's case as tightly as this one. I was told it was the original case and all the paperwork checks out so I'm pretty sure this is the right case. The tips of the headstock are what makes the fit so tight. Is this normal?

I'm sure as I get more accustomed to this guitar I'll have other questions.

Thanks for any help

MKunie likes this.
  2. drmilktruck

drmilktruck Gretschified

May 17, 2009
    Plymouth, MN
    Congrats on your new Penguin and welcome to Gretsch Talk!

3. Chmason85

Chmason85 Gretschie

May 1, 2018
    Philadelphia
    Congrats and welcome! Fwiw, my 53 VS jet has a super tight fit in the case and I got it at a shop brand new. Its got some room side to side but pressing the lid down takes a little more force

4. audept

audept Senior Gretsch-Talker

Dec 1, 2010
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome to the forum, Joe! We would love to see pics of your Penguin.
    outdoor_logo_scraper-welcome.jpg

5. LivingMyDream

LivingMyDream Country Gent

Welcome to Gretsch-Talk Joe, and congrats on your White Penguin! And yes, pics would be great.

6. Bertotti

Bertotti Country Gent

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
    Pictures in and out of the case! Please! I have the BJP and it is a bit tight closing the lid but the tips of the headstock are fine. I have to have the bar turned down to the bottom to keep it as low as possible to close the lid.

7. Sid Nitzerglobin

Sid Nitzerglobin Country Gent

Jun 8, 2015
    fROMOHIO
    Congrats, and pics please!!!