Join Gretsch-Talk Today

New to Gretsch

Discussion in 'Pedal Pushers Forum' started by Bertotti, Sep 5, 2017.

1. Bertotti

Bertotti Synchromatic

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
    So I have a Broadway Jade Penguin and although I do have some pedals I have never tried it through them. I figure it is time to correct that. I only have a few carbon copy delay, RC Booster, LTD sr, mini Qtron and my latest is a jangle box Byrds. I am most excited to try the Jangle Box . Any experience here with any of these. I'm traveling again so it will be a week before I can give any a shot. Thanks

Oh one other question the moogerfoogers seem interesting but expensive are they worth the cost?

2. Zeke

Zeke Gretschie

Aug 14, 2017
    United States
    I have no experience with those pedals in particular, but I have learned that with a Gretsch you need to start all over with your pedal settings. Usually your usual settings are not optimum, so set everything to whatever is midway and start hunting for your new tones. Don't be afraid to work your pickup and master volume controls to get the best tone as setting them to 10 usually isn't going to give you the "sweet spots". Generally dirt boxes go first, then boost pedals, followed by delays and then reverbs. Rack gear should go through your effects loop if you have one, but standard pedals, even modulation, usually work well through the standard guitar input.
    I know nothing about the moogerfoogers, so sorry there.
    Let us know what you come up with.
    -Zeke

Bertotti likes this.
  3. Bertotti

Bertotti Synchromatic

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
    Thanks Zeke hope to be home to play this weekend so I will let you know. I appreciate your input!

4. wabash slim

wabash slim Country Gent

Feb 10, 2010
    lafayette in
    Welcome aboard!
    I'm not a pedal guy, so no help on that matter. Enjoy yourself!

Bertotti likes this.
  5. Ricochet

Ricochet Gretschified

Nov 13, 2009
    Monkey Island