New Juice Box Day

Discussion in 'Ampage Area' started by mandobandit, Sep 8, 2019.

1. mandobandit

mandobandit Gretschie

Apr 1, 2019
    Ohio
    title says it
    JC from Tubular Mods went above reasonable and got my attenuator shipped before Dorian landed.
    I received it Friday, I've not been able to play at much volume, but at bedroom whisper levels I'm very pleased.
    This evening was able to turn up my new 65 DRRI to 5 and the juice box around 10:00 and I'm just blown away.
    This must be real tube breakup, this is so much more legitimate sounding than the Blackstar this rig replaced, at least to my ears.
    Granted I have considerably more money in this rig, but the 10% power scaling, multiple channels / voices seemed good but as time went on there was something very artificial about it.
    I'm back in the electric world for 5 years now after decades in the bluegrass, folk arena, so I'm new to much of what is available today, I'm really happy with my Gretsch guitars and now the Fender Deluxe.
    Looking to tame your non master volume tube amp, from my limited experience the Tubular Mods Juice Box is well worth a look IMG_4923.jpg IMG_4924.jpg

Trash Kidd, thunder58, Merc and 3 others like this.
  2. thunder58

thunder58 Super Moderator Staff Member

Dec 23, 2010
    tappan ny
  3. ampe

ampe Country Gent

May 11, 2011
    belgium
    What's the difference between this and attenuators that cost hundreds of dollars?

4. mandobandit

mandobandit Gretschie

Apr 1, 2019
    Ohio
    No idea other than $115.00 and up :D
    This is new to me so can’t speak with any authority.
    This was recommended by a member whom has the same DRRI and was happy with outcome

5. thunder58

Dec 23, 2010
    tappan ny
    I hate to ask ( but I never did in the past either ) but what does an Attenuator actually do ? ( laymens terms please )

6. mandobandit

mandobandit Gretschie

Apr 1, 2019
    Ohio