New G5420T, pot/pickup/beginner issue?

Discussion in 'Electromatic Gretsch Forum' started by faceplant, Jan 10, 2019.

1. faceplant

faceplant Newbie

Jan 10, 2019
    uk
    I bought a beautiful G5420T in orange last weekend and I'm in love with the thing. It's a significant upgrade from an old squier strat I've had and failed to learn to play since my childhood.

I had a question though since I'm a beginner and I can't seem to figure out whether it's supposed to be this way or not. Bear with me and apologies if my explanation is rubbish.

If I have the tone rolled off, the last 1-2mm or so before maximum volume of the master volume pot seems to hit some kind of switch and massively increase the volume for very small travel. It almost sounds like a mini overdrive and there's a very obvious step if I roll the master volume back and forth. But the same thing doesn't appear to happen if I have the tone up past about halfway. Is this some kind of boost or something that I've missed in the documentation? Does my guitar have a dodgy knob? Or is it supposed to be this way?

Cheers!

2. loudnlousy

loudnlousy Friend of Fred

Oct 18, 2015
    Hildesheim, Germany
    Although the increase of volume should not be linear on these type of pots I find this to be strange, too. Never experienced this phenomenon.
    If you don`t like it that way:
    The pots on these guitars are not top-shelf. Since it is not too expensive to change them to better quality ones I would suggest to do it.

benjwri likes this.
  3. benjwri

benjwri Country Gent

Oct 27, 2011
    Central ON Can
    I would say 'dodgy pot'!

4. Cheers mate . . .
    . . . and welcome to the forums from another newbie.
    Interesting first post for sure.
    I found this online youtube . . .

Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollow Body Tone Review and Demo

5. Trash Kidd

Trash Kidd Country Gent

Dec 14, 2015
    London U.K.
    Welcome! Enjoy that 5420....