Mud Switch replacement.

Discussion in 'THE Gretsch Discussion Forum' started by Otisorange, May 13, 2019.

1. Otisorange

Otisorange Electromatic

Mar 20, 2015
    Buxton
    Just bought this 1962 Tennessean. In very good nick and sounds so good. However, the mud switch is too dark ( on both settings).
    It’s unusable. I had a 2013 6119 HT and used the brighter of the roll offs permanently.
    My question is, what can I do to give me a mud switch that I can use? Do I get a replacement switch or just different value capacitors or what?
    I have little knowledge in this area and any advice is welcome. 897D22A1-D4B2-4547-9E03-CD9A3E797761.jpeg

new6659 likes this.
  2. JHowdy

JHowdy Country Gent

Nov 16, 2013
    Finland
    You need to change the capacitor values. They're soldered on the switch terminals, so you'll have to remove the switch to do the job. Probably nothing wrong with the switch itself, if you get any change to the tone when using it.

j.s.c likes this.
  3. Otisorange

Otisorange Electromatic

Mar 20, 2015
    Buxton
    Thank you. That makes sense.

JHowdy likes this.
  4. tartanphantom

tartanphantom Country Gent

Jul 30, 2008
    Murfreesboro, TN
    FYI--Modern values are .012uf (more mud) and .0039uf (a little mud).

For a 1962 model, the existing values are most likely .1uf (LOTS of mud) and .05uf (not quite as much mud, but still dark)-- these are quite dark in tone compared to modern Gretsch guitars, and many folks find them unusable.

Like yourself, I find the modern tone cap values to be highly serviceable. The modern cap values are available direct from TV Jones.

Last edited: May 13, 2019
    Ricochet, j.s.c and JHowdy like this.
  5. T Bone

T Bone Country Gent

Guess where the term "mud switch" came from. I love my modern mud switches on my 3 Pro Lines, very glad I didn't get a vintage one before, I would have hated them like so many others do.

6. JHowdy

JHowdy Country Gent

Nov 16, 2013
    Finland