Looper and drums set

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by GiorgioG, Jun 24, 2019.

1. GiorgioG

GiorgioG Electromatic

Jun 17, 2019
    London
    Hi guys,
    How are you?
    I'm a beginner with guitars, started to learn to play a few months ago, I now have a lovely G5422T and I couldn't be happier :)
    I have a quite cheap Boss Katana 50 amp, that for me is more than enough now.
    What I would like to do is to use a looper to record clean chords progressing and then playback it in a loop a play a "distorted solo" over it.
    I would like to have a drum base at the bottom of it.
    I was starting to think about how to implement it.
    I looked at some pedal that has both looper and drum sets, but, I was thinking that if I connect the pedal to the only input that the Katana 50 have, it will be ok when I play and record the clean base but I guess, when I set the amply to overdrive, it will be going to distort also the drums and the clean playback, so probably it is not a solution for me.
    What could be a feasible solution? Are there pedals can play a drum base, playback a clean guitar play and then overdrive while I play the solo? So I just need one (and the only input) on the amp?

Thanks for your help

Giorgio

2. Yukimajo

Yukimajo Gretschie

Nov 4, 2018
    Exeter UK
    Hi Giorgio

Your cause could be helped enormously by using a DAW for home recording on your PC. There is a great free one called Cakewalk (https://www.bandlab.com/products/cakewalk). Here is a link to the documentation and user guides http://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=SONAR&language=3&help=Tutorial1.1.html. All you would need to get on top of this would be a good Digital Interface box to record through. I would recommend that you look at a 2nd gen Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 which don't cost that much more than a pedal, here it is on the GAK website. What you are using to record your drum track on?

Oh and congrats on the 5422T!