I'm in a bit of a conundrum

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by shrews824, Feb 12, 2019.

1. shrews824

shrews824 Synchromatic

Feb 22, 2016
    Hardinsburg, Kentucky
    Hey guys/gals,

I'm in a bit of a conundrum and just wanted to hear some feedback.

I started playing in bands when I was 16 years old and last played in a band 8 years ago at the age of 34. In that time I have gotten married to a beautiful woman that I absolutely adore and we now have a 3 1/2 year old daughter that is the light of my life. We both have excellent jobs, and are extremely happy with our home life, so not playing out didn't bother me one single bit.

Here's my situation. A few months ago I went with my buddy to his bands practice. He told me to bring a guitar and sit in and just jam a little. I did..... and really enjoyed it. The band contacted my buddy and asked him if I'd be interested in joining the band. I told him to tell them that I wasn't sure the timing was right, but I appreciated the gesture, etc., etc.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago. The exact same thing happened. I went to jam with them again (felt even better this time) and have again been contacted about playing with them.

I'm not sure what to do. I was perfectly happy jamming at home and with friends at their houses on occasion and still having time to hang with my wife and daughter. However, I'm really getting the itch to play in a band and play in front of some folks again.

I don't want to miss a single second of my daughter growing up. I want to go to every function that she may be involved in and if I join a band that will seriously impede that.

I realize everyone will have different opinions and everyone has a different situation, but I just wanted to hear some feedback.

Thanks a bunch for listening,
    Scott

Howard hughes likes this.
  2. ruger9

ruger9 Country Gent

Nov 1, 2008
    NJ
    My 1st question would be... is your buddy ok with it? Don't dent a friendship over a band.