How is a 5120 supposed to be wired?

Discussion in 'Technical Side of Things' started by sluttyhearts, Dec 10, 2019.

1. sluttyhearts

sluttyhearts Electromatic

Dec 10, 2019
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    Hey, all—

Longtime lurker, first time poster, yada yada, thanks for your patience.

I'm having a buzz (grounding) problem with my G5120. I replaced the stock pickups with some TV Jones a year or two ago, and even though I was a noob, it seemed like it was working OK. Then the wood around the output jack got munged (stop me if you've heard this one) and I invented a repair involving a Les Paul jackplate. (It later transpired that I was not exactly the first yahoo to think of this, but I was still kind of proud of myself.)

During all these repairs, I noticed that the factory wiring is super cheap. Gretsch seems to have gone with 2¢/ft. wire instead of 7¢/ft. wire on this model, making the wiring harness approximately 1000x less sturdy to save 15¢. (If anyone at Gretsch is reading this, I just want to say I would totally have paid the extra 15 cents to not be dealing with this. Hell, I'd probably pay a quarter!) If, in the course of soldering a connection, you bend the wire more than twice, it breaks.

The upshot of this is a) high blood pressure, and b) all the wiring slowly getting shorter as I cut off the broken ends and start over. So I just want to pull it all out and rewire it, using the nice new guitar wire I ordered from Stewmac.

But imagine my chagrin at learning that neither gretsch.com, nor, apparently, anyone else on the Internet, has a wiring diagram that is specifically stated to work for the 5120.

There's this, which lists a bunch of model numbers, but 5120 isn't one. And there's this, which seems promising, but who knows?