Help, Has anyone here had to recover from a stroke?

Discussion in 'Fred's Barcalounge' started by Charles Conner, Oct 14, 2019.

1. Charles Conner

Charles Conner Gretschie

May 19, 2016
    Maryland
    I had an eschemic stroke on Feb 14th of this year. The major thing that has been affected is my ability to play the guitar, the stroke affected the use of my left hand. I'm the lead singer/ guitarist in a 4 piece group; bass, drums, keyboards, and me. I've been playing in bands for over 60 years, now I'm starting over, I know what to do but I can't, it's like having a nightmare to be on the bandstand. I feel like an embarrassment for my other band mates, my keyboard player same age as me 78, Sam Paladino from Laplata MD., has worked in groups with Roy Clark and Danny Gatton on guitar, now he's stuck with me and lots of his old musician friends come to see us. I can't quit, we have jobs on our calendar. I've told myself to just crank it up and play but that doesn't work. Now I have to tell myself, like everyone else, I've always had my limits, but now they'er just much greater. I recently found out about the jazz guitarist Pat Martino who had a brain hemmorage so bad that he didn't remember that he ever played the guitar, now he's playing great. I need to hear more stories like that.....If I can help anybody from my experiences, please ask. If any one has anything that will help me please let me know.

Last edited: Oct 14, 2019
    new6659 and blueruins like this.
  2. radd

radd Country Gent

Dec 27, 2017
    Santa cruz
    No stories, no help, sorry.

I will say I admire your courage and willingness to fight through it.

Hoping for a speedy recovery for you.

Stefan87, Merc and Charles Conner like this.
  3. Merc

Merc Country Gent

May 6, 2017
    Florida