Gretsch G9210 Boxcar

Discussion in 'Gretsch "Roots" Acoustic Forum' started by Danbgt, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Danbgt

Danbgt Electromatic

May 25, 2019
    Texas
    I am a pretty new guitar player. I took it up as a retirement endeavor. I have been a drummer for 57 years. Started playing when I was 12. I always wanted to play guitar but family and a busy career seemed to dominate all the time. (And money!). So when I retired I needed something to keep moving and thinking and the guitar was the answer. Now, with the internet, there is a never ending array of teachers and instruction. But I quickly discovered that the electric rhythm guitar parts to all the rock n roll songs that I wanted to learn was not what I was really interested in. What was really interesting and challenging was John Fahey, Leo Kottke and Jack Rose. So that’s where I headed. Sometime before arthritis and Alzheimer’s sets in I am going to be able to play some of that stuff!
    Some time ago I ran across a Gretsch square neck Boxcar resonator for a price that was just to stupid to pass up. It’s a pretty little thing. Very deceiving. I brought it home. I picked up an assortment of thumb and finger picks. And a Dunlop Lapdawg tone bar. I’m set! There are all kinds of YouTube videos on how to pay this thing. Piece of cake.