Gretsch for Jazz

Discussion in 'Streamliner Gretsch Forum' started by bassman20, Feb 11, 2019.

Which jazz guitarist that used Gretsch is better?

1. Sal Salvador

33.3%
  2. Rune Gustaffsen

33.3%
  3. Other

33.3%
  1. bassman20

bassman20 Newbie

Nov 30, 2018
    California
    Hi
    I am primarily a jazz guitarist that also plays a tiny bit of blues. I was wondering: there's so much stigma on the internet about Gretschs for jazz, but I want to know if it is actually based on the sound, or if it is just the appearance. Furthermore, if I am going to buy a Streamliner as a jazz box, I am leaning toward the Streamliner g2420t-p90 Limited Edition with Bigsby. Is that a good choice?

Thanks in advance

2. Bertotti

Bertotti Country Gent

Jul 20, 2017
    South Dakota
    I would say get the best guitar you can afford reasonably and if it speaks to you when you play it and try it out then it is the right choice. If you played the G2420t-p90 and loved it then I would say yes it is the right choice, if it is only because of the price but it didn't really do anything for you then I would save a bit and find one you love. I think you can get good Jazz out of any Gretsch. From a Penguin on down. I'm partial to this video and that guitar could just as easily do rock.

I think it could get the job done but is better at crunch. I would look to the pups as well as the guitar especially if you are looking for a Jazz box. But that is just one opinion out of many and I am sure someone else probably thinks just the opposite of me. But like I said I would be looking for a more filtertron pup and less of the Broadtron.

I just put Thomastik Jazz wings on mine. Strings can make all the difference in the world.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
    benjwri likes this.
  3. Synchro

Synchro The artist formerly known as: Synchro Staff Member

Jun 2, 2008
    Sorry Vista
    Admin Post